Volunteer with Laguna Canyon Foundation!


Interested in protecting what you love? Then join Laguna Canyon Foundation’s fun band of volunteers.

Throughout the South Coast Wilderness, our volunteers help us #KeepItWild and support OC Parks staff with a variety of functions:
  • Backcountry Patrol (hiking or biking)
    • After specialized training, volunteers patrol the backcountry on bikes or foot to support the OCParks staff.
  • Restoration and Stewardship
    • Work side-by-side with OC Parks Rangers and Laguna Canyon Foundation staff to remove invasive species, plant new plants, brush “social” (illegal) trails, and maintain existing trails.
      • Trail maintenance
      • Select restoration projects
  • Wilderness Access Volunteers (WAV)
    • Whether indoors at the Nix Nature Center or at staging areas and trailheads around the park, our trained volunteers "WAV" and greet park guests to:
      • Suggest an appropriate trail
      • Share a map
      • Provide water
      • Explain which trails are for biking, hiking, and which trails allow dogs
      • Provide general assistance
  • Native Plant Nursery
    • In our Willow plant nursery, our volunteers may collect seeds, sow seeds in flats, sterilize plant containers and equipment and/or help maintain the facilities.
  • Wildlife Camera Project
    • Volunteers assist the wildlife camera team to collect images from park cameras and sort and catalog digital photos.
  • “Sweeping” on Naturalist-led hikes
    • Support volunteer-leaders on hikes, rides and interpretive events by “sweeping” (bringing up the rear) and helping with paperwork.
  • Office work, special events and much more!


Volunteer1

Volunteer2

Volunteer3

Temporary Volunteers

Because temporary volunteers are “short-term” (i.e. sign up for one event at a time), there is no formal training needed. Please click on the date links below to get a full description of these fun events and #keepitwild!

Keep it Wild - Aliso and Wood Canyons Wilderness Park
Saturday, November 4, 2017
Saturday, December 2, 2017

Keep it Wild - Laguna Coast Wilderness Park
Saturday, October 21, 2017
Saturday, November 18, 2017
Saturday, December 16, 2017

Nursery Plant Propagation and Care Day
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Saturday, November 11, 2017
Saturday, December 9, 2017

Restoration Stewardship – Pecten Reef
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Trail Stewardship
Five Oaks Trail - Saturday, October 28, 2017
Camarillo Trail - Sunday, November 12, 2017
Old Emerald Trail - Sunday, December 10, 2017
Stagecoach South Trail - Sunday, January 14, 2018
Car Wreck Trail - Saturday, January 27, 2018
Trail TBD (Brushing) - Sunday, February 11, 2018
Lynx Trail - Saturday, February 24, 2018

Certified Volunteers

Certified volunteers go through an orientation, are mentored/trained, commit to a background check and CPR training (which we provide at no cost), and serve a minimum amount of hours per month. Volunteer hours are tracked though an online program and volunteers agree to log their hours.

Certified volunteers wear uniforms and name badges (which we provide) and support policies and requirements of Laguna Canyon Foundation and OC Parks.

If you’d like to become a certified volunteer, please complete the online interest form and register for one of our upcoming Volunteer Orientations.

Online Interest Form


Upcoming Volunteer Orientations:
No orientations scheduled